archive-info.com » INFO » K » KNOWLEDGEHOUSE.INFO

Total: 433

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Knowledge House: Articles & Reviews
    Older children and adults can t resist searching for the hidden objects either so it becomes a pleasant diversion for the whole family The eye catching double page spreads of numerous toys building blocks natural objects art materials chalk drawings valentines science projects antique school supplies puppet theaters Rube Goldberg type contraptions and hundreds of tiny doodads are carefully composed and artfully arranged The riddles incorporate wordplay rhyme rhythm and alliteration Solving the riddles by finding the objects is a fun challenge that encourages observation and enhances visual discrimination Extra credit riddles are included and the detailed illustrations provide endless possibilities for making up your own riddles rhymes and games With its unique content I Spy School Days is one of those rare treasures that will please kids parents and teachers alike I also recommend these other books in the series I Spy the original book of picture riddles I Spy Christmas I Spy Fun House I Spy Mystery I Spy Fantasy I Spy Spooky Night and I Spy Treasure Hunt I Spy Super Challenger and Gold Challenger contain illustrations from previous I Spy books with more difficult riddles I SPY SCHOOL DAYS CD ROM by Scholastic This digital version of the book expands on the rhyming riddle hidden object format by offering additional technologically unique learning opportunities For example sometimes objects have to be moved in order to find the sought after item or a dot to dot activity needs to be completed to reveal a hidden object The graphics are photographs of familiar items most with a school days theme and the package accurately depicts the product The program contains Oops Hoops Venn diagrams disguised as Hula hoops Nature Chalkboard Balloon Popper chain reactions Wood Block City Codebreaker Craft Projects Find Me Riddle and Make Your Own I

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/spy.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Knowledge House - Review - Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary
    parents and guardians who neglect these duties SCHOOL n L schola 1 A place or house in which persons are instructed in arts science languages or any species of learning or the pupils assembled for instruction In American usage school more generally denotes the collective body of pupils in any place of instruction and under the direction and discipline of one or more teachers Thus we say a school consists of fifty pupils The preceptor has a large school or a small school His discipline keeps the school well regulated and quiet 2 The instruction or exercises of a collection of pupils or students or the collective body of pupils while engaged in their studies Thus we say the school begins or opens at eight o clock that is the pupils at that hour begin their studies so we say the teacher is now in school the school hours are from nine to twelve and from two to five 3 The state of instruction Set him betimes to school 4 A place of education or collection of pupils of any kind as the schools of the prophets In modern usage the word school comprehends every place of education as university college academy common or primary schools dancing schools riding schools c but ordinarily the word is applied to seminaries inferior to universities and colleges What is the great community of Christians but one of the innumerable schools in the vast plan which God has instituted for the education of various intelligences SCHOOL v t 1 To instruct to train to educate He s gentle never school d yet learn d 2 To teach with superiority to tutor to chide and admonish to reprove School your child and ask why God s anointed he revil d Think about it a dictionary is a tool that shapes one s reasoning and knowledge as new words are learned The worldview of a dictionary s authors are reflected in their definitions Does your dictionary reinforce and verify Biblical truths for your family or does it introduce conflicting values Webster s 1821 American Dictionary of the English Language contains the worldview and vocabulary of the founding generation This generation practiced Biblical reasoning and they prized Christian character and virtue above all else Noah Webster was a Christian whose Biblical knowledge and research is clearly seen in his definitions He is quoted as saying Education is useless without the Bible and is considered to be the Father of American Christian Education Noah Webster laid the foundation for the American usage of English words He established a system of rules to govern spelling grammar and reading He researched every word in their original languages to provide the root meanings This master linguist understood the power of words their definitions and the need for precise word usage Furthermore Noah Webster defined each word according to its meanings and usage in the Bible Webster s 1828 Dictionary contains the greatest number of Biblical definitions given in any reference volume

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/webster.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Knowledge House - Learning Resources - Homeschool Information - Articles & Reviews
    was involved in the project too Wes was the on camera talent The positions of camera operator lighting continuity and sound were handled by his oldest daughter Rebekah His son Lucas composed the soundtrack using a library of music to develop the score Another son Micah designed the 101 Series website and the DVD artwork Chemistry 101 is a complete overview of chemistry from a Christian perspective Anyone who says the Bible and science don t go together should watch this DVD because it shows that the two are not mutually exclusive In fact many of the world s great chemists were Bible believing creationists whose religious faith was the basis of their interest in science Chemistry 101 is pure science and it s not preachy at all but it will truly give you an appreciation of God s order and design in the basic building blocks that make up His wonderful creation Chemistry 101 takes what could potentially be a dry difficult subject and makes it an exciting easy to understand visually rich experience It s amazing how much information they manage to fit into this fascinating educational program The script was meticulously researched and the content is outstanding This comprehensive course will guide you and your family through all the essentials of chemistry and the periodic table of the elements Wes Olson brings chemistry to life by including fun facts and the history behind the science He spotlights various scientists from ancient alchemists to nuclear physicists He also performs experiments including the famous Mentos Diet Coke Explosion that demonstrate the concepts he s teaching Wes Olson has a knack for presenting the basics of chemistry in an engaging eye catching way Creatively utilizing colorful graphics and humorous asides he masterfully draws his viewers into the amazing world of chemistry Wes has a good understanding of how people learn and he uses a systematic layered approach to teaching He explains complex concepts in simple terms and even uses clever mnemonic devices to emphasize important terms to remember The episodes themselves are well paced though they do seem to go quickly just because they re so interesting This keeps you always looking forward to watching the next one The Chemistry 101 course is geared toward high school students ages 15 and up but the DVD was designed to be interesting for the whole family My husband and I watch it with our 17 and 12 year old sons and we always end up having a great discussion after each episode For anyone who hasn t studied chemistry this entertaining and informative program provides a solid foundation For those who already have some background in the subject it provides a thorough review that is sure to include a few facts that you didn t know or had forgotten I never took chemistry in high school or college I preferred botany and geology but I enjoy watching Chemistry 101 My husband is a chemist he has a B S in Chemistry and

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/review_chemistry101.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Knowledge House - Homeschool Information - Articles & Reviews - Manga Messiah
    s Math Books contains much practical advice on how to save money while utilizing John Saxon s books to their fullest potential Some of the questions this book will answer for you are What is the proper sequence of Saxon Math books We re switching to Saxon which book should we start with Are used Saxon books still good or should I buy the new editions Is it okay to skip problems When is it advisable to take two years to get through one book What is the correct way to record academic credits How does the high school student receive credit for geometry Can Saxon Math successfully prepare students for the ACT SAT and AP exams Is a calculator really necessary and what is the best model to get What are the similarities and differences between Math 87 and Algebra ½ Should I pay 50 100 for a CD DVD or video tutorial What if my child has special learning requirements The first half of Using John Saxon s Math Books contains general information about selecting and using the Saxon Math curriculum The second half of the book focuses on the individual Saxon texts Math 54 Math 65 Math 76 Math 87 Algebra ½ Algebra 1 Algebra 2 Advanced Mathematics Calculus and Physics with a whole chapter devoted to each Some of the material within this section is repeated but it allows you to read only the chapter regarding the particular book in which you are interested at the present time I highly recommend this valuable handbook no matter which Saxon textbook you own Ideally of course parents should get Using John Saxon s Math Books before purchasing a Saxon Math text to make sure that they pick the right one If you have been using Saxon Math for a while you may think that you already know everything there is to know about it However upon reading Using John Saxon s Math Books you will discover that s definitely not the case Our family has used Saxon Math for over ten years and yet I gained quite a bit of useful advice from Art Reed s book For one thing I d better check which editions we have because even though they were brand new when we purchased them they are much older now Also the instructions on how to properly record the math credits have already been a great help for creating our son s high school transcript While our oldest son is finishing up Calculus and Physics our middle son is going to be starting Math 76 and our youngest son is still learning elementary arithmetic This means that we will be doing Saxon Math for a long time to come I m so glad that we now have this informative guide to accompany the Saxon books I only wish Using John Saxon s Math Books had been available years ago My favorite chapter in the book is entitled John Saxon s Legacy As a longtime

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/review_ArtReed.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Knowledge House - Learning Resources - Homeschool Information - Articles & Reviews
    that focus on popular Modern Astronomy such as space travel and black holes Signs Seasons teaches Classical Astronomy This is the traditional approach to studying the sky as it has been done for centuries Astronomy is the most ancient science and it was one of the Seven Liberal Arts in a classical education This meant that Astronomy was once as essential to an educated person s training as Arithmetic Geometry and Music Thus astronomy had been part of the education of every classical and medieval scholar as well as great thinkers from the Renaissance and Reformation through the Founding Fathers of the American Republic Basically the starry sky is an excellent means of observing logic and order applied in a natural system Throughout history people have used the sun moon and stars for timekeeping and navigation This is the purpose for which God created the celestial bodies for signs and seasons days and years Genesis 1 14 At one time everyone from common folks to scientists knew how to read the signs in the sky However somewhere along the way this knowledge was forgotten and is now neglected or even omitted in contemporary classrooms and curricula Signs Seasons provides a golden opportunity for Christian homeschoolers who respect God s creation to rediscover the astronomical heritage of a bygone era Signs Seasons is packed with fascinating facts about the history of astronomy as well as practical information useful for astronomical observation Signs Seasons contains chapters on the phases of the moon and the passage of the seasons finding the traditional constellations identifying the visible planets how our calendar is based on the sun and moon and how the times of Passover and Easter are derived Perhaps even more importantly Signs Seasons sets the record straight about supposed pagan influences in astronomy and offers challenging Biblical and historical explanations that distinguish the legitimate science of astronomy from the ancient superstition of astrology In addition to the main text Signs Seasons includes extensive Field Activities a large Glossary a Biographia of Quoted Authors Astronomical Tables Selected Bibliography a list of resources for further reading and an index As a lover of quotations I especially appreciate this opportunity to learn about astronomy through the quoted words of Scripture and various authors ancient medieval modern Christian and secular alike from Aristotle and Cicero Augustine and Basil the Great Martin Luther and John Calvin to Shakespeare and Leonardo da Vinci Such extensive use of historic quotations is certainly unique in a science book Many of these quoted individuals and sources are also featured in my book Learning for Life Educational Words of Wisdom so it s interesting to see what they have to say on the particular subject of astronomy My oldest son has been interested in astronomy since he was a baby Seriously he had memorized the names of all the planets when he was only two years old I ve always been a stargazer myself and liked to write poems about the sky when

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/review_JayRyan.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Knowledge House: Articles & Reviews
    want to see what a level looks like before you buy it The curriculum was not written for a particular denomination but is meant to be trans denominational although the Wiebe family s Statement of Faith is posted on their website I noticed that the Scripture quotations unless otherwise indicated are taken from the New King James Version although it looks like the curriculum can be easily tailored to use with any translation The Stick Figure curriculums contain 38 40 lessons that consist of reading drawing reviewing and memorizing Every lesson begins by teaching the timeline for that series and each subsequent lesson starts with a timeline review up to the point of that lesson This makes the Bible verses characters and events much easier to place within their context With each lesson the students will read a Bible passage answer a set of review questions and learn a Bible memory verse that is related to the lesson and the timeline The parent or teacher can determine how to apply the lesson based upon prayer the type of class the needs of the students and what he or she feels led to emphasize Beginners ages 5 7 will learn about major characters and events of the Bible and memorize verses Level 1 students grades 1 2 will begin to learn the Old or New Testament timeline and be able to tell several facts about each character or event on the timeline Level 2 students grades 3 4 will expand their knowledge of the Old or New Testament timeline and memorize important Bible facts Level 3 students grades 5 8 should be able to complete the Old or New Testament Timeline on their own and will be introduced to basic biblical geography Level 4 students teens and adults will master the Old or New Testament Timeline know where the books of the Bible fit into the chronology and will be introduced to basic Bible study tools Concordance Dictionary and Topical Bible For those who are teaching both younger and older children Grapevine Studies makes multi level instruction simple If you have students in Level 1 to Level 4 all you have to do is purchase the teacher manual at the highest level being taught The teacher notes for each level are designed to teach that level and with minimal teacher adjustment are also compatible with the levels below Each student will need his or her own student book The Student Book is basically a workbook on high quality paper which when completed will become a permanent record of what they have learned in their Bible study as well as a personalized keepsake of their work The books are also available on a CD in Adobe Acrobat PDF format which enables you to print pages at your convenience In addition the Wiebes have developed a Level 5 Blueprints curriculum that is designed for older students to build upon the foundation of the Stick Figure curriculum by applying themselves to a more in

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/grapevine.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Knowledge House: Articles & Reviews
    for parents to call the child s attention to everyday things that reinforce the concepts being taught I highly recommend this set of workbooks for preschoolers age 4 5 as a basic learning resource to help with reading and math readiness These can easily be supplemented with other hands on preschool activities picture books and of course reading stories aloud to the child Adventures with Books teaches how to follow simple directions how to color and hold a pencil correctly identifying eight basic colors and three basic shapes along with a few familiar word meanings such as up down big small and left right It contains many cut and paste activities a rebus story a story of Little Wang Fu of China and ends with the song Jesus Loves Me Bible Pictures to Color is basically a coloring book with 60 pictures that correspond to each of the stories in the Bible Stories to Read book Bible Stories to Read is illustrated with a miniature version of each coloring picture A few pictures provide color by number practice Counting With Numbers teaches the child how to identify write and understand the meanings of the numbers 1 through 10 It also teaches number sequence after before and between and simple math related words more less first last empty full shorter taller Included is a rebus story Jesus Feeds the People as well as a color by number page Do It Carefully introduces children to different shapes letters and a few simple words This workbook contains exercises for writing letters and the child s name as well as hearing several initial consonant sounds Some exercises are included to develop thinking skills In addition it has a brief science lesson about a forest and a stream a rebus story about Baby Moses and two songs Everywhere We Go reviews skills taught in the previous books colors shapes numbers letters writing the letters and the child s name and hearing several initial consonant sounds while introducing some new consonant sounds The book also tells about children in different lands and encourages personal responsibility and courtesy See how many stars the child can count at the end Finding the Answers helps develop thinking skills through following directions hearing rhyming words identifying sequence making comparisons and associations understanding sentences and short stories The child will write down his name telephone number and birthday There is a short story about an Eskimo boy Bible Stories to Read by Martha Rohrer is a 135 page storybook with pictures oral questions to ask and Bible memory selections This book contains 60 simply told Bible stories 36 from the Old Testament and 24 from the New Testament for parents to read to their children Each story includes several questions and answers at the end as well as a short Bible verse to memorize thus providing practice in both listening and oral skills The Bible Stories to Read book is illustrated with a miniature version of each coloring picture from Bible

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/rodstaff.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Knowledge House: Articles & Reviews
    homemakers will find that playing music is a great stress reliever Wouldn t you love to be able to come home after a hard day sit down behind that piece of furniture that s been gathering dust over in the corner and relax by playing your favorite song As you get older learning to play the piano will keep your mind active and playing beautiful music will help you to feel alive As with any new skill persistence is the key but practicing your favorite songs is not a chore it s a joy Start out with something simple and as you keep at it you will gradually be able to work your way up to more complex melodies Soon you will be confident enough to begin adding intros and endings as well as experimenting with a few extra chords to add more depth to the songs In this way you can transform a simple melody and some basic chords into something special Did You Know The piano is physically and mechanically an easy instrument to play If you tried to play the same note on a trumpet or other instrument it would be more difficult Your only obligation with the piano is to get your fingers over the right notes Other instrumentalists quit because they can t play the instruments piano players quit because they can t read the music More Testimonials Scott The Piano Guy Houston says he can teach anyone how to play the piano in a few hours Sound too good to be true Don t just take my word for it Read what others are saying I m a former piano teacher a classically trained pianist for a local church I m very excited to see a program that combines fun and a relaxed attitude for something that should be a joy rather than a chore Music is something to be enjoyed embraced and shared L Treadwell Lampasas TX The evening I spent in Scott s class was one of the most fun times I have had in a long time I learned more in that 3 and a half hours than in many years of piano lessons Edna Anne S Portsmouth OH I was looking for a method book that would allow my students to quickly learn some type of chord playing while continuing their classical studies This method is a very fun one to work with and there has been much positive response from my students I also showed your pamphlet to my husband after the class and he picked up Jingle Bells right away Doreen H Cleveland OH The Piano in a Flash class was wonderful inspiring I ve been playing a lot and believe I m getting better all the time Slowly but surely It s great fun Julie B Elgin IL My piano teacher is ecstatic about the course She also teaches chord structure and was amazed at the program Nancy Lorig Springfield OH Haven t played the piano in about 10 years and have lost most of what I learned This helped me a great deal Marta K Shinker Champaign IL It was eye opening It removed a lot of the mystery of music and made the work of learning to play a lot more fun A great value T Submit Middletown OH I sat down tonight and can play Silent Night with chords included after 15 minutes of work Yes I am still hunting for notes at times but I was thoroughly impressed This time I think I really can do this R Hubbard I am a piano teacher watching this on a PBS station and I am amazed that there is another teacher out there utilizing this similar method Although I teach both classical and pop I began to learn using a similar method the chord method When playing publicly I never seem to play anything the same way more than once ever I am a born improviser Trying to explain the chord method to classical teachers is outrageous I ve been slammed more than you can imagine I have taught kawai and technic methods as well as classical methods Scott really does a good job at promoting music education and is an inspiration S Andrews Tisdale Saskatchewan Very informative as well as entertaining I have been looking for a class like this for at least 30 years At the age of 15 45 years ago I had a teacher who taught with a very similar method I LOVED IT I used to go to my lessons with books containing blank staffs and she would ask me what current tunes I liked and would take a pencil and write them out for me adding the chords What a blast I ve been wanting to get back to the piano but just didn t want to go back to more traditional lessons Sharon Stanley Beavercreek OH NEXT FIND OUT FOR YOURSELF HOW EASY PLAYING THE PIANO CAN BE If you would like to learn to play the piano why not start with your favorite song first Most people don t want to practice scales forever they want to play a tune If you wish you could have fun and sound good at a piano without devoting the years required to study classical piano the Chord Piano Method is for you It provides a better awareness of how pop keyboardists play too The piano is physically a simple instrument to play You don t need long skinny fingers or years of weekly lessons In just one day you can learn everything you need to play any song from any piece of sheet music or song book This will give you years of musical enjoyment If you can find middle C can recognize a treble clef and know the meaning of Every Good Boy Does Fine you already know enough to begin playing the piano Middle C is simply the C that s in the middle of the keyboard whether

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/pianoflash.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive