archive-info.com » INFO » K » KNOWLEDGEHOUSE.INFO

Total: 433

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Knowledge House - Learning Resources - Homeschool Information - Articles & Reviews
    Bible picture books or The Lord of the Rings My husband always looks forward to coming home and reading to the kids because it helps him to relax after a hard day at work Reading aloud is a great way to regularly spend some quality family time together too Children of all ages prefer the aliveness of real literature living books as opposed to the dull repetition of standard textbooks When we make reading a chore for a child or give them boring books to read we are taking away the pleasure aspect that makes them want to read Children will get much more out of a lively discussion of a story or book than they would by just memorizing facts Especially when teaching history the more real the past seems to children the more interesting it is Instead of teaching history as dry dusty names and dates to remember try reading biographies or better yet autobiographies Even if you use a pre packaged curriculum you can supplement it with living books For example we use Switched On Schoolhouse and recently while studying ancient Greece we read the D Aulaire s Book of Greek Myths on the side For a third grade beginning study of American History we read and discussed all of the books in the American Adventure series They bring historical events to life with storylines and characters that children can relate to Some people feel it doesn t matter what kids read as long as they re reading something But wouldn t it be so much better to read great literature that sets a good example Reading great literature will inspire children to be good writers When new vocabulary is acquired from books they have read children can incorporate it into their own writings Well written literature demonstrates proper grammar and word usage Reading spelling and writing all naturally work together If the home environment is abundant with language children will absorb it if grown ups take time to read stories children will learn how to speak and listen Listening is a difficult skill to develop but it is extremely important This is another purpose for which reading aloud can be helpful Take turns talking about what each person thought about the book the characters and their motivations how the story could be better and so on It takes a little more planning and time to conduct a reading program in this way but it s well worth the effort There are two books that I highly recommend to anyone who wants their child to learn to read These are The Read Aloud Handbook by Jim Trelease and Reading Magic by Mem Fox Trelease provides useful tips on why you should read to a child how you should read to a child and what sort of reading materials are appropriate for reading aloud to a child He includes a really nice annotated list of great read aloud books Fox explains that babies are born learners discusses the

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/reading.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Knowledge House: Articles & Reviews
    learning and the pursuit of knowledge Excerpts Author Bio Endorsements Press Order Form PRODUCT CATALOG Citizens Rule Book Learning for Life God Created You Captain Dad Abraham Lincoln The Boy The Man ARIZONA EDVENTURES Educational adventures in Arizona Includes field trip ideas and a study guide K I D S P A G E Top Two Homeschooling Trends Classical Education and High Tech Education At first glance these two topics don t seem to go together Yet in a way they do because both are popular trends in home education today This is what Mike Farris discussed in one of the workshops at the AFHE convention in July 2000 Mike Farris is the founder and past president of the Home School Legal Defense Association Currently he is president and founder of the new Patrick Henry College The focus of classical education is to learn about the foundation of Western civilization and in particular to understand the principles behind the freedoms we enjoy as Christians in America A classical education includes the study of great literature history theology economics Latin Greek and Hebrew It is taught in several stages The ability to read write and do basic math operations are required first of course This is The Grammar Stage in which drills and memorization are emphasized This stage provides a basic knowledge of facts dates places names of things words scriptures etc Next comes the Dialectic Reasoning Stage during which the child studies the why questions Following this is the Rhetoric Stage in which the student takes the facts and values he or she has learned and learns how to communicate them in an articulate manner For this purpose the subjects of writing speech and debate are highly desirable Farris says the purpose of high tech education should be to supplement

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/trends.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Knowledge House: Articles & Reviews
    as well I cataloged all of the items using a database called Readerware The software also keeps track of loans and due dates although I haven t been assigning due dates I simply ask people to bring the items back as soon as they re done with them and they can keep curriculum for up to a year If someone requests an item that has been checked out for a long time I will contact the current borrower just to see if they have finished using it yet Several different companies generously donated books and educational resources to our library In appreciation I placed their logo and link on the resource center website listing them as sponsors We also have an assortment of catalogs from various curriculum publishers and distributors Making the catalogs available helps people who are looking for certain items or who want to compare different curriculums We have past issues of homeschool magazines on display and I distribute new copies of The Old Schoolhouse and Homeschooling Parent magazines In addition since a homeschool resource center qualifies as an educational organization for the purpose of Campbell s Labels for Education and General Mills Boxtops for Education we are collecting and saving those labels and boxtops to put toward getting a microscope or other science equipment As independent home educators we have the freedom to choose the instructors who will best meet our needs They may be homeschool moms hired teachers or people from the community who are professionals in their field Parents that teach classes usually have experience in the subject matter Since the students are getting their primary education at home we concentrate on enrichment classes rather than core curriculum Various homeschool courses that we have offered include Art Music Drama Creative Writing Geography Sign Language and High Tech Kids Other activities have included the Pizza Hut Book It reading incentive program standardized testing Gettysburg dramatization by Bob Farewell book sale fire safety presentations and first aid course The local homeschool honor society and a support group also hold their meetings there The resource center and library are open about once or twice per week whenever homeschool classes or activities are taking place While we favor instructors resources and courses that have a Christian worldview the resource center is open to all homeschoolers in the area no matter what church or support group they belong to We have had classes for all ages from preschool to high school and even for moms Certain classes by necessity are loosely divided into age groups For the sake of convenience we try to set up the classes so that they run back to back all on one day Some children attend only one class and other families have children in several different classes Although a few parents drop their kids off and pick them up later others stay to observe the classes or browse through the library books and many moms like to sit and chat We have a fenced

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/resourcecenter.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Knowledge House: Articles & Reviews
    a chemist quality engineer besides being the math teacher in our house The first time I heard about home education the idea intrigued me since I was reluctant to entrust our children to the unknown influences of others Peter was already reading at age two so I figured that I could effectively teach him My husband became convinced of the merits of homeschooling after hearing a speech by John Taylor Gatto and reading Dumbing Us Down The Hidden Curriculum of Compulsory Schooling Having three easily distracted strong willed boys ranging in age from a preschooler to a teenager makes homeschooling a challenge We ve tried everything from unschooling and relaxed homeschooling to structured curriculum such as textbooks computer software and online courses For advice and encouragement I turn to The Old Schoolhouse HomeschoolingBoys com local support groups and especially to my mom a former teacher Likewise Susanne Bain author of Home Schooling A Better Education for Your Child offers many practical suggestions I ve concluded that formal instructional time is not necessary However homeschooling does require having a wide variety of resources available and taking advantage of any educational opportunity that presents itself Our homeschool lifestyle incorporates year round learning an eclectic assortment of materials and lots of supplemental reading Our home library contains approximately 5 000 books While studying the childhoods of great men and women from the past I found that they didn t always attend school but spent much of their time reading playing and exploring My recently published book Learning for Life Educational Words of Wisdom available at www knowledgehouse info and on Amazon com contains quotes from many famous homeschoolers who made significant contributions to mankind simply by thinking outside the box In our own experience interactive learning activities are the most memorable making a jigsaw puzzle of the earth s tectonic plates forming a 3 D contour map of the Gettysburg battleground creating a backyard archeological dig donning period attire and attending a Regency Ball cooking a Thanksgiving feast using authentic Pilgrim recipes observing the animals in our NWF certified Backyard Wildlife Habitat constructing Lego storybook scenes and models of famous structures dressing up as Treasure Island characters and hoisting the Jolly Roger up on our sailboat mast Our supplies come from various sources including my favorite homeschool catalogs CBD and Timberdoodle We begin with the tried and true Rod Staff Preschool ABC series along with Get Ready to Learn by Nancy Champion Chupp a step by step activity program for pre kindergarten children Then we advance to Math for Your First and Second Grader by Steve Slavin It provides a good foundation for Saxon Math which we ve used for 3rd grade and up Switched On Schoolhouse is our basic Language Arts Science and History program along with PhonicsTutor and the WordSmart Vocabulary software We recently branched out into Runkle Geography and Apologia Science Last year Peter enrolled in a web based introductory course in Space Science at www space education org while

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/TOSarticle.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Knowledge House: Articles & Reviews
    Book Learning for Life God Created You Captain Dad Abraham Lincoln The Boy The Man ARIZONA EDVENTURES Educational adventures in Arizona Includes field trip ideas and a study guide K I D S P A G E A Letter From the Editor Originally written for the May 2000 issue of Homeschool Headlines a newsletter for Desert Hills Christian Homeschoolers Springtime is a season of new beginnings and of looking ahead to the future Spring is the season of daydreams It is when many graduates are making plans and deciding what they want to do in life While contemplating this the other day I recalled what I had thought about doing in my future In fourth grade I made a list of what I wanted to be when I grew up I noted at the top of the page There is more than one thing here because I can t make up my mind Scientist Writer Teacher Wife Mother Storekeeper Banker Secretary Reporter Librarian My teacher wisely wrote at the bottom of the page Perhaps you could do more than one of these things Now that I think about it I ve been fortunate to have had the opportunity to do every one of these things As a homeschool parent I get to wear all kinds of hats I am of course a wife and mother I am the teacher of my children I am a scientist when conducting experiments in the kitchen or taking the kids on a nature walk I feel like a storekeeper whenever I m stocking up food in the pantry for my growing boys Keeping track of our family s finances makes me think like a banker I am the librarian of our homeschool library I am currently the secretary of our homeschool group and as

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/letter.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Knowledge House: Articles & Reviews
    EDVENTURES Educational adventures in Arizona Includes field trip ideas and a study guide K I D S P A G E What it Takes to Homeschool By Kelly Maynard And he lifted up his eyes and saw the women and the children and said Who are those with thee And he said The children which God hath graciously given thy servant Genesis 33 5 How gracious God has been toward us as homeschooling parents He is allowing us to raise a Godly heritage for the work of the Lord What an honor it is to be given that right What an awesome responsibility As the leader of our homeschool group I am always getting calls from moms who are thinking of homeschooling their children You can always tell when they are new to homeschooling You sense their fear of the unknown They are never quite certain they have what it takes to teach their children When we first heard of homeschooling over 15 years ago we thought it was a good thing and were very supportive of those that chose to teach their kids at home Unfortunately at that time I didn t think I had what it takes to successfully do it myself It wasn t until our oldest daughter was in fourth grade that we finally came to that place where we knew we no longer had a choice We had to homeschool for the sake of our children We are now in our seventh year of homeschooling and feel a renewed joy in the fact that we home educate our children We are starting to see the many wonderful fruits of our labor Our oldest daughter has grown into a trustworthy obedient confident young lady whose only desire is to serve God with all her heart Our

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/kelly1.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Knowledge House: Articles & Reviews
    Bio Endorsements Press Order Form PRODUCT CATALOG Citizens Rule Book Learning for Life God Created You Captain Dad Abraham Lincoln The Boy The Man ARIZONA EDVENTURES Educational adventures in Arizona Includes field trip ideas and a study guide K I D S P A G E Overcoming Homeschool Hurdles By Kelly Maynard Whenever we start a new homeschool year I write up a list of goals I want to accomplish My list often contains the same goals I was shooting for the previous year and sometimes even the year before that When I look at this list I get a little discouraged I wonder if I will ever overcome in a particular area Sometimes I feel so overwhelmed I feel I m barely keeping my head above water Do you ever feel this way I don t know about you but I feel like a runner in a race I have many hurdles in my path Some of the hurdles I am able to skim right over while other hurdles bring me down hard I have skinned knees and elbows I find myself looking back over my shoulder and I see many downed hurdles When I see these downed hurdles it makes me want to quit the race It makes me want to admit defeat Oh how Satan loves to have us look back and see only our failures I am reminded of what it says in Hebrews chapter 12 Let us lay aside every weight and the sin which so easily ensnares us and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith When I get discouraged it is because I have gotten my eyes off of Jesus and on to the circumstances Discouragement is always

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/kelly2.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Knowledge House: Articles & Reviews
    opportunity to pray about the hard day with her pastor s wife who is also a homeschooling mom My friend said she had the most awesome prayer time and that at the end they both walked out of the room with tears in their eyes totally encouraged of the Lord I was thinking how wonderful it is to have a friend to share with and pray with about our homeschooling struggles My friend agreed with me but said that that was not the most awesome part of her story It was what they prayed that was so powerful While the two of them were praying the Lord showed them something that I will never forget They had both prayed before for God s anointing upon them to teach children s church ladies bible studies etc but they had never thought of asking God to anoint their homeschooling efforts They decided to ask God to anoint them to teach their own children My friend said after praying for God s anointing they went on to have the best week of homeschooling ever Wow I will never forget that story So many times I have struggled in doing things in my own strength But I can t do things in my own strength I need to totally rely upon God for He is strong in my weakness Yet I find myself slipping occasionally and I end up going back to doing things my way Not a good thing My husband Steve and I have a ministry in which we minister to married couples once a week in our home We are currently nearing the end of our first 13 week session of teaching couples how to be one flesh and have a victorious marriage My husband and I would never have entered

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/kelly3.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive