archive-info.com » INFO » K » KNOWLEDGEHOUSE.INFO

Total: 433

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Knowledge House: Articles & Reviews
    Keller who had severe learning disabilities blindness and deafness Anne developed a method of touch teaching which used direct experience rather than attempting to explain a concept Quotations I was on the whole considerably discouraged by my school days It was not pleasant to feel oneself so completely outclassed and left behind at the beginning of the race Winston Churchill Young George although he was bright and intelligent and bursting with energy he was unable to read and write Patton s wife corrected his spelling his punctuation and his grammar biographer Martin Blumenson on General George Patton As a child I was called stupid and lazy On the SAT I got 159 out of 800 in math My parents had no idea that I had a learning disability Henry Winkler I performed poorly at school when I attended that is and was perceived as stupid because of my dyslexia I still have trouble reading I have to concentrate very hard at going left to right left to right otherwise my eye just wanders to the bottom of the page Tommy Hilfiger clothes designer I never read in school I got really bad grades D s and F s and C s in some classes and A s and B s in other classes Almost everything I learned I had to learn by listening My report cards always said that I was not living up to my potential Cher When I had dyslexia they didn t diagnose it as that It was frustrating and embarrassing I could tell you a lot of horror stories about what you feel like on the inside Nolan Ryan My teachers say I m addled my father thought I was stupid and I almost decided I must be a dunce Thomas Edison He told me that his teachers reported that he was mentally slow unsociable and adrift forever in his foolish dreams Hans Albert Einstein on his father Albert Einstein I myself was always recognized as the slow one in the family It was quite true and I knew it and accepted it Writing and spelling were always terribly difficult for me My letters were without originality I was an extraordinarily bad speller and have remained so until this day Agatha Christie mystery writer I was one of the puzzle children myself a dyslexic And I still have a hard time reading today Accept the fact that you have a problem Refuse to feel sorry for yourself You have a challenge never quit Nelson Rockefeller businessman philanthropist Since I was the stupidest kid in my class it never occurred to me to try and be perfect so I ve always been happy as a writer just to entertain myself That s an easier place to start Stephen J Cannell screenwriter producer director I had to train myself to focus my attention I became very visual and learned how to create mental images in order to comprehend what I read Tom Cruise I barely made it through

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/ldornot.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Knowledge House: Articles & Reviews
    The Apple II is the first computer made for the general public 1979 Sony introduced the Walkman portable audio cassette player 1980 Mount St Helens erupts in Washington State 1980 Sony introduced the first consumer video camcorder 1981 The Space Shuttle s first flight 1981 IBM launched its personal computer 1982 Compact discs first appeared 1985 The wreck of the Titanic is found 1986 The return of Halley s Comet 1986 The Space Shuttle Challenger explosion 1986 Chernobyl nuclear power plant meltdown 1989 The Berlin Wall is torn down 1989 The World Wide Web is invented 1989 The Exxon Valdez Alaskan oil spill 1990 The Hubble Space telescope is launched 1991 The Gulf War Operation Desert Storm 1992 Los Angeles race riots 1994 The first digital cameras for the consumer market 1995 Pixar s Toy Story the first entirely computer animated film 1998 The first two parts of the International Space Station link up 2000 The New Millennium 2001 Terrorists attack the U S Pentagon and World Trade Center buildings 2002 How many of these events have you witnessed Be a Family Historian Here s a fun history project to do Interview your grandparents or great grandparents Ask them to tell you about their lives Where did they grow up What type of house did they live in Where did they go to school What kinds of foods did they eat What styles were fashionable back then What music was popular when they were your age What did they do for fun What jobs did they have How much did certain items cost at that time What famous people and events do they remember seeing Be sure to take notes or take a tape recorder along to record the conversation If your grandparents live far away and you can t visit them in person write them a letter They will be happy to know that you re thinking of them and will be glad to answer your questions Spend time learning about your grandparents now while you can You may be amazed at how interesting their lives were and how much history you can discover Time passes quickly and when you re older you won t want to regret that you didn t get to know your grandparents better What do your grandparents mean to you Your grandparents have been around for a long time Listen to them and you may be surprised at how much you can learn from them What knowledge skills and traits have your grandparents contributed to your family My grandmother leaves our family with a legacy of FAITH unwavering strength at all times FAMILY more important than anything else in life FRIENDS keeping in touch with a note or card brings happiness FLOWERS care for God s earth displayed in colorful gardens FOOD sharing the results of a love for baking and cooking Quilt Picture This looks just like an old fashioned quilt but there s no sewing needed You will need pencil graph paper

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/gramma.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Knowledge House: Articles & Reviews
    comes and you see new folks coming in remember to look for ways to make them feel included Get involved and participate in the group s activities Attend meetings Volunteer your time Submit information to the newsletter This will help you to develop solid relationships with other members by showing an interest in what they are doing Of course trying to find your place in the group while you re also struggling as a new homeschooler can be a lot to take on at once That s okay just do what you can when you are able One of the blessings that being part of a support network brings is being able to call a homeschooling friend who you can count on to empathize and encourage you in some way You can even post your questions and concerns on the group s e mail list in order to get a variety of answers and advice from different members If after a while you still feel that you are having a difficult time fitting in and getting the support that you so desperately need talk to a leader or board member and they will see what can be done to better serve your family Please bear in mind that the group leaders are busy homeschool parents just like yourself so try not to be offended if they don t call you back right away and be patient if it takes a while for them to respond to an e mail If it s something urgent that needs an immediate response please say so Otherwise don t hesitate to contact them again after a few days just in case they missed the message In addition to their own household and family responsibilities group leaders are constantly trying to think of ways to 1 provide the services that members want 2 facilitate communication within the group to keep members informed and 3 encourage member participation to make the group successful One or two people can t do everything however and support group leaders are only human so they have bad days too Even the most organized leaders with the best of intentions may find themselves overextended and exhausted at times Feel free to ask them if they need any help Trust me they will really appreciate the offer No job is too small If you are willing to volunteer on a long term basis see if there are any positions open Here are some examples of duties that may need to be filled Field Trip Special Event Coordinator Newsletter Editor Treasurer Secretary Resource Coordinator Library Liaison Hospitality Welcome Committee Area Representative Mentor Mom Yahoo Moderator Webmaster Special Needs Coordinator Legislative Liaison Reporter Photographer Publicity Person Boxtops Labels for Education Coordinator It s always been said that you will get as much out of a support group as you put into it If the group doesn t offer an activity that you would like organize it yourself If it s group field trips that

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/hsmembership.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Knowledge House: Articles & Reviews
    immediately or you can leave your children in school till the end of the semester or the final day of the school year If you are not going to be taking your child out of school immediately don t say anything to the teachers or administrators just yet Telling them in advance that you are planning to educate your children at home can cause problems so it s best to wait until the last possible moment to do this One mother says I had to put up with arguments with teachers who felt my decision to homeschool was an insult to their abilities as well as having a child scrutinized in an attempt to have her labeled ADHD as well as having her minor speech impediment suddenly become a big deal These things occurred in an attempt to keep her tied to the school for special services If it will be a while before you actually withdraw your children from the school use the time that you have to prepare for homeschooling by reading everything about home education that you can find This would include homeschool magazines books on learning styles and samples of homeschool curriculum There is usually no formal process or specific withdrawal form that must be completed However to help prevent any trouble with the truant officer notify the school principal or administrator when you remove your children You should be able to do this in the school office but remember to wait until the day you are actually withdrawing them Ask for a copy of your child s records to take with you Remember no matter how much proof you have that taking your children out of school is best for them you are not going to change the minds of critics It s important to

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/deschooling.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Knowledge House: Homeschool
    area is available for members to bring their children along 6 Start an electronic discussion list for your group so members can communicate with each other between meetings 7 Post announcements flyers and meeting reminders via e mail You may also want to consider putting out a newsletter 8 Take a survey to discover your members homeschooling styles curriculum used children s ages what specific types of support or other activities the members would like to see offered and their greatest area of need in regard to homeschooling 9 Study one or more leaders who you admire Observe how they conduct themselves in their leadership role 10 Keep up to date on the education laws in your state and also try to stay abreast of homeschool related developments nationwide The Home School Legal Defense Association HSLDA can help with this 11 Be aware of upcoming events in your area Know when the next homeschool convention seminar workshop or other activity is scheduled 12 Familiarize yourself with the educational resources available in your community such as music and art teachers sports leagues museums libraries teaching supply stores etc 13 Put together a website with frequently asked questions or a New Member Packet of information for newbies 14 Gather a collection of homeschool books catalogs and tapes even if it s simply kept in a box 15 Don t depend on word of mouth to make your group known Inform your statewide homeschool support organization Print out an informative brochure and leave copies at the local library Post an eye catching flyer on church and community bulletin boards Place an announcement of your group s events in the local newspaper s activities section 16 Set up a Welcoming Committee at your group s scheduled functions to make newcomers feel welcome 17 Host an annual book sale or Homeschool Information Night to reach prospective members and parents who may be undecided or curious about homeschooling 18 Have a special potluck meeting once or twice a year in the Fall September October and Spring February March This gives the dads a chance to meet each other and an end of year potluck can be an opportunity for the kids to show off their projects 19 Encourage members to take charge of arranging field trips and posting the information to the group 20 If coordinating a particular activity is too much for you to handle and no one steps forward to help out stop doing it Perhaps someone will decide to take over once the activity is missed If nobody does offer to do this then maybe the activity is no longer important to the majority of members at this time 21 Create a membership form with a place for name address phone number email address names and ages of children etc Include a statement such as Please indicate in which area s you are willing to volunteer followed by a list of jobs such as newsletter editor welcoming committee mentor mom treasurer secretary e

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/hsleaders.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Knowledge House: Homeschool
    of leadership If you look in a dictionary you will see that the first definition of to lead means to show the way to guide to direct someone toward a goal This implies making the way easier or helping to bring about a successful result not through forceful coercion but by being an encouraging influence Thus I looked upon my position as being more of a facilitator among peers rather than the head person in charge Later I found out that this is what is meant by the term servant leader The term servant leadership comes from the writings of Robert K Greenleaf 1904 1990 an American essayist in the tradition of Emerson Back in 1970 he wrote a short essay entitled The Servant as Leader in which he described servant leadership like this It begins with the natural feeling that one wants to serve to serve first Then conscious choice brings one to aspire to lead The difference manifests itself in the care taken by the servant first to make sure that other people s highest priority needs are being served Of course long before Greenleaf coined the term the concept of servant leadership was demonstrated in the Bible According to the biblical model one first serves God and from that motivation one proceeds to serve others While the idea of leader as servant has roots in the Old Testament it was Jesus Christ who said If anyone wants to be first he must be the very last and the servant of all Mark 9 33 35 Characteristics of Servant Leaders Calling Servant leaders feel called to use leadership as a means to help others rather than as a way to gain personal power or prestige Vision Servant leaders are creative thinkers open to a world of possibilities They encourage others to think out of the box dream big dreams and reach lofty goals Stewardship Servant leaders have a natural sense of stewardship which is the careful and responsible management of the resources entrusted to one s care Awareness Servant leaders are in tune with the environment and have a keen sense for knowing what is going on around them as well as being able to anticipate and prepare for the future Empathy Servant leaders have an instinctive ability to understand and empathize with others circumstances and problems This includes a willingness to sacrifice self interests for the sake of others Listening Servant leaders are excellent listeners They are generally interested in and value what other people have to say Growth Servant leaders are committed to enabling people to become the best they can be professionally personally and spiritually At the same time the servant leader is learning from those he leads Persuasion Servant leaders convince others to do things through the powers of persuasion rather than relying on force or formal authority Equality A servant leader does not consider himself above those he leads nor does he believe that the leader is better than the followers The servant

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/servantleaders.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Knowledge House - Learning Resources - Homeschool Information - Articles & Reviews
    as a Homeschool Leader As homeschool leaders do you sometimes wonder if your efforts are appreciated or if the time and energy you spend helping other people is worth it Serving as a homeschool leader means that we have a multitude of extra tasks added to an already full plate of managing our households and educating our children Nevertheless being a good leader requires a sincere commitment to assist others regardless of our personal situation I can recall many times when I ve put the needs of the homeschool group before something of my own that I wanted to get done However I do believe that s what true leadership is all about While this type of servant leadership is a huge responsibility it can also be a blessing By stepping outside the shadow of our selves we may see a bright light that we otherwise would have missed For example as a support group leader my life has been enriched by getting to know more of the members than I normally would They have become like an extended family to me I am humbled to have the opportunity to walk in other people s shoes as they share their problems frustrations and emotions Observing how their faith and passionate prayer life accompany challenges has been especially uplifting and has greatly strengthened my own faith At the same time as leaders we all want to do good to effect positive change to help others And yet whenever I feel a sense of satisfaction knowing that I have made a difference in somebody s life I am reminded not to get caught up in my own self righteousness This is because whatever significance we have does not come from who we are or the position we hold God is the one who calls us to be leaders and He is the one who equips us with what is necessary to fulfill that which He called us to do An important role of leaders is connecting with and caring for other people despite what issues we are facing in our own lives By doing so we may receive special blessings in return When I was confronted with some trying experiences this past year the group members were always there to rally behind me and back me up Amazingly the year culminated with a miraculous ending reminiscent of It s a Wonderful Life a perennial holiday favorite of our family This movie tells the story of George Bailey a man who constantly places the needs of others before that of himself and sacrifices his dreams to help his hometown Suddenly on the verge of personal and financial ruin through no fault of his own he finds the entire town pitching in to save his building and loan business This year as we watched the movie we were undergoing a similar situation My husband had recently lost his job making it the fourth time he was laid off in four years Consequently he and

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/leadershipblessings.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Knowledge House - Learning Resources - Homeschool Information - Articles & Reviews
    she died when he was 9 years old Lewis was then sent away to a boarding school in England During this time he began to abandon his childhood Christian faith After unhappily attending several different boarding schools in the summer of 1914 the 15 year old Lewis was told that he could come home and would be privately tutored by a family friend However his new mentor was an aggressive atheist and Lewis moved further away from any church teachings or belief in the Bible Lewis learned Greek Italian French and German He studied Norse mythology and enjoyed the music of Richard Wagner Yet none of these influences were as strong or lasting as that of Scottish author George MacDonald whose work Lewis came upon by chance at a train station bookstall MacDonald was a dedicated Christian who wrote children s books such as The Princess and the Goblin as well as adult fantasies full of religious symbolism Lewis immediately fell in love with the book he had picked up and later wrote I regarded him as my master indeed I fancy I have never written a book in which I did not quote from him In 1916 at age 18 C S Lewis was accepted into Oxford University College Europe was in the middle of fighting World War I at the time As an Irishman Lewis could not be drafted by the British Army but in 1917 he chose to volunteer After Lewis was posted to the front line he was soon wounded and returned home He continued his studies in Oxford and said to himself The only people who achieve much are those who want knowledge so badly that they seek it while the conditions are unfavorable Favorable conditions never come In 1925 Lewis was hired as an English teacher at Magdalen College in Oxford It was here that he met J R R Tolkien a professor of Anglo Saxon and a devout Roman Catholic Lewis joined a reading group established by Tolkien composed of Oxford men who enjoyed reading Old Norse and the dead northern languages Lewis became one of Tolkien s closest friends and it was Tolkien s interest in Scandinavian folktales and Celtic legends that influenced Lewis writing Lewis later became a professor of Medieval and Renaissance Literature at Cambridge The year 1929 when Lewis was 31 became a turning point in his life Lewis had been an avid reader of G K Chesterton for some time and that great English novelist poet and essayist had brought many to Christianity Lewis kept thinking that he was deceiving himself by not believing and that he should accept God because I couldn t think of anything else to do It was on September 28 1931 when Lewis finally became a Christian The evening before Lewis had a long talk on Christianity with J R R Tolkien The following day he and his brother Warren took a motorcycle ride to the Whipsnade Zoo Lewis recalled in his autobiography

    Original URL path: http://knowledgehouse.info/lewis.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive